h1

Nina Bruhns – Hard Case Cowboy

October 21, 2007

Copyright: 2006

Pages: 256 (paperback edition)

Setting/Type: Contemporary/Series Romance

Grade: B

Stubborn Irish beauty Rhiannon O’Brannoch rides into Redhawk Jackson’s life, and he knows everything is destined to change. But he has no idea just how much. As if no money, a failing business, a rash of rustling and a dead body aren’t enough, now he has to contend with the one possibility that can truly break his spirit—losing Irish Heaven ranch, the only home he’s ever known and his one heart’s desire.

One look at her uncle’s sizzlingly sensual, broody ranch foreman has Rhiannon melting in her new pink cowboy boots, but Hawk only wants one thing from her…well, okay, two things… to get her off the ranch as soon as possible, and to get her into his bed. Will she insist on keeping her uncle’s legacy for herself, or will she succumb to temptation and give up everything for love?

I discovered Nina Bruhns years ago when I first read one of her erotic romance titles she wrote under the pen name Nikita Black. Totally loving it, I became curious about her category novels and hit jackpot. So far I have only read three of her series stories but each one of them delivered a solid story, good characterization and diverting entertainment. So when I checked the library catalogue and found several of her books I immediately put them on my reading list.

Hard Case Cowboy has a plot premise that is not one of my favorites. A big and integral part of the story is about the hero and heroine’s money problemes and how they struggle to save the ranch one of them is going to inherit. I try to avoid money issues, especially when both characters are concerned, but in case of Bruhns I made an exception, and thank heaven for that!

Rhiannon O’Brannoch is a refreshingly untypical category heroine. 32 and experienced in the ways of the world, she’s missing the purple prose many average females are forcefully “gifted” with. Despite money problems she never looses her joy for life. Her whole being instantly involved me in the story and made me feel comfortable and welcome.

Redhawk Jackson is a harder nut to crack. Too many times life has disappointed him and made him wary towards bubbly Rhiannon. Nevertheless, he is barely able to resist her charms. His quiet but sensual attitude conquers Rhiannon very fast, but it takes some time until he discovers his long lost thought heart.

This was an all around satisfying read and earns a solid B. There are five or six more books from Bruhns in my library and I am really looking forward to reading them… all of them!

Leave a comment